France wins the doubles to Australia and lifts the Federation Cup


First modification:

Perth (Australia) (AFP)

France won the Federation Cup of Tennis (Fed Cup) defeating Australia 3-2 thanks to the victory of the pair Kristina Mladenovic / Caroline Garcia against the local couple Ashleigh Barty / Samantha Stosur in the last match of the final, played this Sunday in Perth

In the doubles match, the French couple won two sets, 6-4 and 6-3. This is the third title of France in the Fed Cup, after the trophies won in 1997 and 2003. France had lost the finals of 2004, 2005 and 2016.

"It is hard for me to realize what we have achieved, because in 36 hours I have been through a lot of emotions but we said we were going to win it all together and we have done it," said Garcia, who had started the series by losing the doubles by a double 6 -0 against Barty.

"I gave it my all, I am completely exhausted, it was not easy, I fought, I worked … This weekend in Australia and the whole campaign has been a great example of teamwork," added Mladenovic, the total protagonist of the win, to participate in the three victories.

With a 1-1 draw after the first day, the Bleues took the advantage this Sunday with the victory of Mladenovic (40th WTA) over world number 1 Barty, winner of Roland Garros and the recent Masters, after two hours of combat (2- 6, 6-4 and 7-6 (7/1).

Then Australia equaled quickly, with the 6-4 and 7-5 triumph of its number 2, Ajla Tomljanovic (51st) over Pauline Parmentier (122nd), preferred by coach Julien Benneteau to his number 2, Garcia (45th WTA).

Associated in the decisive doubles, Mladenovic and Garcia gave up the start service before taking command of the game and imposing themselves in just over an hour.

– Results of the final of the Federation Cup:

– Saturday:

Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) beats Ajla Tomljanovic (AUS) 6-1, 6-1

Ashleigh Barty (AUS) to Caroline Garcia (FRA) 6-0, 6-0

– Sunday:

Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) to Ashleigh Barty (AUS) 2-6, 6-4, 7-6 (7/1)

Ajla Tomljanovic (AUS) to Pauline Parmentier (FRA) 6-4, 7-5

Caroline Garcia / Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) to Ashleigh Barty / Samantha Stosur (AUS) 6-4, 6-3

– Medal winners of the last ten editions:

2019: France

2018: Czech Republic

2017: United States

2016: Czech Republic

2015: Czech Republic

2014: Czech Republic

2013: Italy

2012: Czech Republic

2011: Czech Republic

2010: Italy

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here