Seattle Sounders pick up titles after defeating Toronto FC


Sounders crown themselves champion


The Seattle Sounders are MLS champion

The Seattle Sounders are MLS champion
© Getty Images

The Seattle Sounders set the MLS crown for the second time in their history. On the way, they switch off the best team of the regular season.

The Seattle Sounders have secured the title for the second time in Major League Soccer (MLS).

Seattle won the reissue of the 2016 and 2017 finals against Toronto FC 3-1 (0-0), replacing last year's winner Atlanta United with German Julian Gressel.

Kelvin Leerdam (57 '), Victor Rodriguez (76') and Raul Ruidiaz (90 ') scored their goals to repeat the 2016 triumph. Jozy Altidore scored the winning goal for Toronto (90' + 3 ').

Try DAZN for free and experience international football highlights live & on demand | DISPLAY

On the way to the finals, Seattle threw Los Angeles FC, the best team in the preliminaries, out of the competition. Toronto with the ex-MOnchengladbacher Michael Bradley switched off in the second semifinal Gressel's team. Even the extravagant star striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic was eliminated with record champions Los Angeles Galaxy in the quarterfinals.

previous article imagenext article image

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here