Gonzalo Pineda, the fifth Mexican champion in MLS


Gonzalo Pineda He became the fifth Mexican to conquer the MLS title. The former player of Pumas and Chivas is assistant coach Brian Schmetzer and celebrated the championship after the victory of Seattle Sounders 3-1 against Toronto FC.

ESPN Digital introduces you to the players who also lifted the champion trophy in football in the United States.

Jorge Campos – 1998 – Chicago Fire

Jorge Campos was the first Mexican to win the MLS title. The goalkeeper did what players like Cuauhtemoc Blanco and Hugo Sanchez could not get, since in 1998, in his second experience in the American tournament, he won the championship.

Herculez Gomez – Los Angeles Galaxy (2005) and Seattle Sounders (2016)

The Mexican-American Herculez Gomez triumphed twice in the United States championship. The forward was in five teams and twice won the championship of that tournament. In Mexico he had a pass through Santos, Xolos, Tigres, Puebla, Pachuca and Tecos Students.

Jorge Villafana – Portland Timbers – 2015

Villafana was born in the United States, but also has Mexican nationality. The defender was an MLS champion with the Portland Timbers in 2015 and then had an experience at Santos. It is the Mexicans who have conquered the tournament in the United States.

Tony Alfaro – Seattle Sounders – 2016

Tony Alfaro played in Chivas and Zacatepec, but before coming to Mexico he was with the Seattle Sounders, in that team he won the MLS title in 2016.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here